Christmas and Me and You

Dear you,

It’s Christmas eve,

And I am looking for something

Special.

Christmas was never real for me,

Pines don’t grow in my city.

My socks were empty:

I was never naughty or nice;

He didn’t exist (Did I?)

Christmas meant a big word,

A distant night of bells,

A merry mystery

On the other side of reality,

And perhaps a winter that

became real for a day.

Christmas was white skin,

And only the chocolate smelled brown.

I never liked fruit cakes.

I do now…

 

Christmas is yours.

You had a Santa Claus

Walking the chimney walls

In your dreams.

You grew to up to find the truth,

And the truth grew with me.

Today, it’s Christmas eve,

I am looking for something special.

The lights are lit

And the bells have rang.

Christmas was never mine.

But you…?

 

–    Shakya

Leave a Reply

